EBMT NEWSLETTER | May 2015 | EBMT 2015 Post Congress Bulletin

Important dates

Van Bekkum Award

This prestigious EBMT award, selected by the EBMT Board, is given to the best abstract submitted to the physician's programme. The winning abstract was presented during the Opening Session. The award of € 3,000 is supported by the EBMT.
This year, the Van Bekkum Award was given to three investigators of the ATGfamily study: Nicolas Kröger (principal investigator and leading author), Francesca Bonifazi (national study coordinator for Italy) and Carlos Solano (national coordinator for Spain and presenting author), for the abstract entitled:
Improved GvHD/Relapse-free survival after HLA-identical sibling PBSC transplantation with anti-lymphocyte globulin. A prospective, multicenter, multi-national randomized phase III trial (ATGfamilystudy)

Basic Science Award

The aim of this award is to increase the level of basic science at the meeting and particularly young investigators are encouraged to submit their work. The prize winning abstract was selected from the top-scoring abstracts by the EBMT Board of Association and Scientific Committee. It was presented as part of the Opening Session.
The award amount is € 2,000 and is generously supported by Clinigen Group Ltd.
This year's Basic Science Award was given to Roni Shouval, lead author of the abstract entitled:
Exploring Limiting Factors in the Prediction of Allogeneic HSCT Related Mortality: An In-Silico Machine Learning Analysis of the Acute Leukemia Working Party (ALWP) Registry of the EBMT

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is granted to retired EBMT members whose passionate work has contributed enormously to the development and successful achievement of the EBMT Mission.

This year, the EBMT welcomes Theo de Witte as EBMT Honorary Member.

Jian-Jian Luan Award for Lymphoma Transplant Research

This award commemorates Jian-Jian Luan, who worked as study coordinator for the EBMT Lymphoma Working Party (LWP) and tragically died in an alpine hiking accident in 2011. The award aims to encourage research leading to improved results of lymphoma treatment through transplantation strategies. Both experimental and clinical work is eligible. The award is presented to the best abstract submitted under the ‘lymphoma’ topic and selected by a scientific committee headed by the Chairperson of the LWP. The prize-winning abstract was awarded with € 1,000 donated by the LWP and presented orally at the LWP session.
This year’s edition of the Jian-Jian Luan Award has been given to Jorge Gayoso, lead author of the abstract entitled:
Haploidentical transplantation (HAPLO-HSCT) with busulfan based Reduced Intensity Conditioning (RIC) regimens and Post-Transplant Cyclophosphamide (PTCy) as GvHD prophylaxis in patients with relapsed/refractory Hodgkin Lymphoma (HL): Spanish Experience

Jon van Rood van Rood Award

This important award is offered by the EBMT Cellular Therapy and Immunobiology Working Party (CTIWP) for outstanding contributions in the field of hematopoietic transplantation immunology, immunogenetics, tolerance and graft-versus-leukaemia/tumour effects. The selection of the best paper was undertaken by a distinguished international jury under the supervision of Prof. Jon J. van Rood and was presented during the CTIWP session.
This award was generously supported by Neovii Pharmaceuticals with an unrestricted educational grant of € 5,000.
The 6th edition of this award was awarded to Robert Zeiser and Lukas Martin Schwab, for the Best Paper in the Immunology of Allogeneic Hematopoietic Transplantation entitled:
Neutrophil granulocytes recruited upon translocation of intestinal bacteria enhance graft-versus-host disease via tissue damage
… And to Mathias M. Hauri-Hohl for his paper entitled:
A regulatory role for TGF-? signaling in the establishment and function of the thymic medulla

Nature Publishing Poster Awards

Two awards for the best physician poster presentations (best clinical and best science poster) were announced during the Closing Session and given by the EBMT President Mohamad Mohty.
These awards are sponsored by Nature Publishing Group and each prize is worth £ 1,000.
The Best Clinical Poster Award was awarded to Miguel Angel Díaz, for his poster P680 entitled:
Outcome and risk factors for pediatric patients receiving an haploidentical transplantation using CD3/CD19 depleted grafts
The Best Science Poster Award awarded to Julia Marie Ritter, for her poster P559 entitled:
T-cell receptor deep sequencing analysis of EBV specific T cells before and after adoptive transfer in a patient after allogeneic stem cell transplantation

Nurses Group’s Awards

Distinguished Merit Award

This award rewards a nurse for his or her long-standing dedication and strategic work emphasising research, education and collaboration as fundamentals contributing to the successful development of the Nurses Group.
Caroline Bompoint received the 7th Distinguished Merit Award.


Best Oral Presentation Award

The prize for best oral presentation went to Hilda Rip-Mekelenkamp and her colleagues from the Netherlands, for their presentation entitled:
Parental experiences and perspectives of end-of-life decision-making in allogeneic paediatric stem cell transplant. 

Best Poster Award 

The prize for best poster went to Fameeda Palk, for the poster NP015 entitled:
Safe discharge of a non-English speaking family from the international paediatric HSCT unit at Great Ormond Street Hospital
These three Awards were presented during the Nurses Group Closing Session.


You can find all the abstracts here: http://www.ebmt2015.org/abstracts.html
Bookmark and Share